Keith & Kristyn Getty Release 'Hymns For The Christian Life'

Oct 09 2012

Leading modern hymn writers Keith and Kristyn Getty have released their latest album 'Hymns For The Christian Life'. Containing duets with Alison Krauss, Moya Brennan and bluegrass legend Ricky Skaggs, the album is a hybrid of Celtic and American country sounds as well as pure, God-focused praise and worship.

Writing on, Keith and Kristyn explain that "'Hymns for the Christian Life' reflects both the Celtic and American folk traditions, old and new world brought together, just as we lean on the rich legacy of Church music we already have with songs written for the life of the Church today."

The couple's most recognisable hymn, 'In Christ Alone', written by Keith and alongside Stuart Townend, has been recorded more than 100 times by a wide range of artists and is now one of the most popular Christian songs of all time in the United Kingdom. Recorded here as a duet with Alison Krauss - one of country music's most recognisable voices thanks to her work with Robert Plant - the hymn has even more power.

Other standout tracks on the album include a reworked 'Nothing But The Blood' and a pitch perfect 'My Heart Is Filled With Thankfulness'.

"I was challenged by a pastor in Belfast to perhaps try and bring some of what the old hymns of the faith had brought to the Church through the centuries to the contemporary Church" explains Keith. "I didn't set out to create the modern hymn. I wanted to write songs that contemporary, traditional and liturgical churches could all use."

'Hymns For The Christian Life' Track Listing:
1. Christ Is Risen, He Is Risen Indeed
2. Oh, How Good It Is
3. A Mother's Prayer
4. Simple Living (A Rich Young Man)
5. Before You I Kneel (A Worker's Prayer)
6. The Village Reel
7. The Perfect Wisdom of Our God
8. Kyrie Eleison
9. My Heart Is Filled With Thankfulness
10. In Christ Alone
11. Nothing But the Blood
12. Holy Spirit (With Gabriel's Oboe)
13. Shout for Joy (The New Hundredth)
14. Gethsemane
15. Echoes of Heaven (Wedding Song)

Other News

Guvna B Releases New Album 'Everywhere + Nowhere'
Apr 03

Guvna B Releases New Album 'Everywhere + Nowhere'

Following his huge new release “Battle”, Newham’s own double-MOBO winning rap icon Guvna B has released his new album “everywhere + nowhere”. The UK scene legend calls on a serious constellation of stars and rising…

 Back to Top