Stuart Townend Records New Studio Album 'The Journey'

Mar 01 2011

British worship leader and songwriter Stuart Townend releases his new album 'The Journey' on 16th May 2011. Best known as the writer of popular modern hymns such as 'In Christ Alone', 'How Deep The Father's Love For Us' and 'Beautiful Saviour', Stuart has consistently inspired and equipped the Church all over the world.

"In this, his latest studio album, Stuart tackles an even broader range of themes, including the importance of generosity and the need for Christians to realign our concept of what is 'ours'", says Kingsway. The new album will be the follow up to Stuart's 2009 album 'Creation Sings'.

All thirteen songs on 'The Journey' are co-written with other songwriters including Keith Getty, Gary Sadler, Mark Edwards, Phil Baggeley and Simon Brading. The album also features a carefully selected band with Terl Bryant on drums, Andy Hamill on double bass, Matt Weeks on electric bass, Dan Wheeler on acoustic guitars and dobro, and Mark Edwards on piano.

"We've kept things pretty acoustic throughout, with lots of room for whistles, fiddle, brass, string quartet and so on", explains Stuart. "But I think we've pushed it out beyond the mainly folk sound of 'Creation Sings' to incorporate a lot more musical influences, so it's going to be distinctively different."

'The Journey' Track Listing:
1 See The Stricken Boat
2 Heaven's Light
3 By Faith
4 What Love Is This?
5 Now When Peace Like A River
6 Come All You Vagabonds
7 The Perfect Wisdom Of Our God
8 A Rich Young Man
9 Be Still My Soul
10 I Could Sing The Songs
11 O My Soul Arise
12 As We Come Before You
13 Christ Be In My Waking

Other News

Crown Freedom Drops 'Got God On My Side And What'
May 23

Crown Freedom Drops 'Got God On My Side And What'

Having gone through the worst year of his life, Crown Freedom is dropping a fresh touch on previously written song ‘Leave My Side’ with a defiant new energy and title 'Got God on My Side And What', set to be released on the…

 Back to Top