Paul Wilbur Returns With First Studio Album In 20 Years

Jan 02 2013

Preeminent messianic worship leader and Dove Award nominee, Paul Wilbur, will release 'Your Great Name' on 19th February 2013, his first studio album in nearly 20 years. The twelve songs of freedom, exaltation and hope open new vistas for Wilbur's Messianic ministry, with its rich heritage of Jewish worship.

Produced by Nashville veteran Dan Needham and over a year in the making, 'Your Great Name' highlights material written by Paul and a sterling cast of collaborators that includes such notable names as Michael Farren, Don Poythress, Steve Merkel and Michael Neale, cowriter of the Dove Award winning title track.

But at the heart of 'Your Great Name' is an inspiration that, as Wilbur explains, came directly from God. "About two years ago," he says, "I heard a word from the Lord. He told me simply, 'If you have a need, I have a name.' That became the theme of this album, with each song highlighting one of the covenant names of God revealed to the Jewish people. While some, like El Shaddai, El Elyon, Adonai and Elohim are very familiar, others are less well known. Your Great Name is my way of celebrating all the abundant attributes of the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob."

With such standout new tracks as 'Who Is Like You', 'Song of the Beautiful Bride' and 'Glory Come Down', the album also features new versions of church favorites like 'Great I Am'. It also includes the ancient Hebrew hymn 'Ani Ma'amin' and a majestic rendition of the title track, originally recorded by Dove Award winner Natalie Grant.

Having performed and recorded in a total of six different languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese, German, Hebrew and, most recently, French, a Spanish version of 'Your Great Name' is scheduled to be recorded live in Mexico in early 2013.

'Your Great Name' Track Listing:
1. Song of Ezekiel
2. Your Great Name
3. Who Is Like You
4. We Will Run
5. Prepare The Way
6. Song of the Beautiful Bride
7. Great I Am
8. Nobody Like You
9. Glory Come Down
10. Who Can Compare
11. Ani Ma'amin
12. Mighty and Glorious

Other News

Hannah Kerr Announces Release of New EP 'Listen More'
Aug 18

Hannah Kerr Announces Release of New EP 'Listen More'

Black River Christian artist/songwriter Hannah Kerr announces the Sept. 13 release of her upcoming EP titled Listen More, while also releasing "Ordinary," a featured track on the project. Kerr is also set to hit the road this…

 Back to Top